Having your priorities in order is…

…helpful in finding success. At work, at home, at the gym, in sports. If your priorities are out of order, then success, while still possible, is much more difficult to obtain. My priorities have not always been in order. Sometimes they’ve even been completely out of whack. But I’m working on it. 

Priority #1 for me, right now, is to provide an environment of safety, love, and peace for my family. Now in order for me to take care of my family I must first take care of myself. This has always been something I’ve struggled with. When I put myself first I feel guilty and I have a hard time finding joy in anything I do to better myself. 

My children are a big priority for me. It is my job to help them become well-rounded, contributing members of society. This is a job that I am proud of, both as mom and auntie. I willingly accepted this position and, even when I struggle with the hardships of parenting, I find that most of the joy in my life comes from it. 

I have health issues that are forcing me to take care of myself first. Taking care of me will help me to live longer and to be there for more of the milestones my children are facing, and will face in the future. After a very rough week of not being able to get out of bed much, and a trip to the ER, I am seeing how hard I have to work to care for myself. I’ve had to rely too heavily on my kids to care for each other. I waited until I was practically bed ridden to seek the help I need. Knowing how stubborn I am, I’m sure this will not be the last time I do this. It’s hard to start the road to medical care when you know it’s a long, slow process. 

Leave a Reply

